Rivertown Theaters Presents Politics ‘1776’ Style With Hit Musical Before The Election

KENNER, LA – Rivertown Theaters for the Performing Arts, 325 Minor St., in Kenner’s Rivertown will be the center of the most entertaining political process in history when the Tony Award-winning musical “1776” convenes on the Main Stage from Nov. 4 – 20, just in time to give voters some relief and diversion from this year’s Presidential election mayhem. 

         The turning point in American history blazes to vivid life in Rivertown Theater’s November musical offering “1776” – a funny, insightful and compelling musical with a striking score and legendary book, that puts a human face on the pages of history. We see the men behind the national icons: proud, frightened, uncertain, charming and ultimately noble figures determined to do the right things for our fledging nation. Step back in time and be inspired by our founding fathers as they attempt to convince Congress to vote for independence from the shackles of the British monarch by signing the Declaration of Independence. This uplifting musical will have you beaming with pride and patriotism, theater reps said.


“1776” CAST:     


JOHN HANCOCK:                           Louis Dudoussat

CHARLES THOMSON:                            Kurt Owens

DR. JOSIAH BARTLETT:                 Joey Dowdall

ANDREW McNAIR:                         Michael Sullivan

JOHN ADAMS:                               Gary Rucker

ABIGAIL ADAMS:                          Nori Pritchard

MARTHA JEFFERSON:                   Jessica Gordon

STEPHEN HOPKINS:                      Wayne Gonsoulin


A COURIER:                                   Aaron Richert

ROGER SHERMAN:                        Alex Furtado

LEWIS MORRIS:                             Matt Mickal

ROBERT LIVINGSTON:                  Drew Arnold


BENJAMIN FRANKLIN:                  David Hoover

JOHN DICKINSON:                         Jimmy Murphy

JAMES WILSON:                            Kyle Daigrepont

CAESAR RODNEY:                        Peter Gabb

COL. THOMAS McKEAN:               Alan Payne

GEORGE READ:                             Darren Hayes

SAMUEL CHASE:                          Terry Utterback

RICHARD HENRY LEE:                  Ken Goode

THOMAS JEFFERSON:                   Matt Reed

JOSEPH HEWES:                            Adam Segrave

EDWARD RUTLEDGE:                   Scott Clausen

DR. LYMAN HALL:                        Chase Dickey      




Director                                           AJ Allegra

Choreographer                                  Lindsay Romig

Musical Director                               Alan Payne

Set Designer                                    David Raphael

Stage Manager                                 Kathy Reiss

Lighting Designer                             Melissa Martinez

Costume Designer                             Linda Fried



Show Dates and Times:

• Opening Week    November 4th & 5th at 8:00 pm and November 6 at 2:00 pm

• 2nd Week            November 11 & 12 at 8:00 pm and November 13 at 2:00 pm

• 3rd Week             November 17, 18 & 19 at 8:00 pm and November 20 at 2:00 pm


Individual Ticket prices, including taxes:

$44.00 – Adults

$41.90 – Seniors

$39.80 – Students


         Corporate and Individual sponsorships, season tickets, group and military discounts are available as well. Preview performance prior to opening night is available for groups and fundraisers at discounted ticket prices.

         For more information



*The men of Congress, the cast of 1776


Benjamin Franklin (David Hoover), John Adams (Gary Rucker) (left) / The men of Congress, the cast of 1776 with Benjamin Franklin (David Hoover), Richard Henry Lee (Ken Goode), John Adams (Gary Rucker)

*John Adams (Gary Adams), Martha Jefferson (Jessica Nicole Gordon), Benjamin Franklin (David Hoover) sing "He Plays the Violin" (left) / 

The men of Congress, the cast of 1776




Categories: Around Town, Today’s Business News