Orleans Parish Assessor: Keep Homestead Exemption, Special Assessment Current

Orleans Parish Assessor Erroll G. Williams

NEW ORLEANS – Orleans Parish Assessor Erroll G. Williams is reminding property owners in Orleans Parish to apply for or make sure their Homestead Exemption, or special assessment due to age, disability or military service, is up to date before Friday, Nov.18.

         The Homestead Exemption or any other special assessment should have been noted on the Property Assessment letter from the Assessor’s Office in July or August.

 

THE HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION

         Every homeowner in Orleans Parish is able to claim an exemption from property taxes for the first $75,000 of value of their “domicile” or the home they occupy as their primary residence. The Homestead Exemption is permanent for as long as the individual owns and resides at that property in Orleans Parish.

         Once you successfully apply for the Homestead Exemption, you do not need to reapply as long as your domicile remains the same.

 

HOW TO FILE FOR A HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION

         To claim a Homestead Exemption, a person must appear in person at the Assessor’s Office and present the following:

1 – Proof of ownership (Act of Sale or Warranty Deed);

2 – A valid Louisiana Driver’s License or Louisiana State I.D. (address must correspond to property’s address on application);

3 – A current unpaid Entergy bill for the property, with service location and mailing address being the same, showing standard residential usage; OR

4 – A landline telephone bill or cable bill (Direct, Dish or Cox).

The office does not accept Sewerage & Water Board bills as proof of residency.

 

SPECIAL ASSESSMENT LEVEL (SAL)

         Homeowners who are 65 years of age or older, have a permanent disability, or the documented surviving spouse of a member of the armed forces or the Louisiana National Guard killed in action, missing in action, or a prisoner of war may qualify for a Special Assessment Level (SAL). The SAL places a freeze on the property’s assessed value, even though the appraised value may continue to fluctuate with the market.

         SALs are permanent except for the disability freeze, which must be applied for annually.

 

HOW TO FILE FOR 100 PERCENT DISABLED VETERANS EXEMPTION

         To claim a Homestead Exemption for a 100 percent Disabled Veteran, the following must be presented:

1 – Proof of ownership (Act of Sale or Warranty Deed);

2 – Proof owner qualified for the current year’s Homestead Exemption;

3 – A valid Louisiana Driver’s License or Louisiana State I.D. (address must correspond to property’s address on application);

4 – A current unpaid Entergy bill for the property, with service location and mailing address being the same, showing standard residential usage;

5 – A letter from the Veterans Administration (VA) which states the veteran owner is 100 percent disabled.

 

HOW TO QUALIFY FOR AN AGE FREEZE

         To qualify for an age-freeze, the homeowner must be at least 65 by August 1st in the year preceding the year the freeze goes into effect and meet certain income restrictions. The maximum qualifying income changes annually; please call 504.658-1300 to verify the current maximum. Once successfully gained, this SAL is permanent and you do not need to reapply for it on an annual basis. Age-related abatements or “freezes” must be documented by:

1 – A valid Louisiana Driver’s License or Louisiana State I.D. (address must correspond to property’s address on application);

2 – Proof of annual income: 1040 adjusted gross income of prior year’s income tax return.

 

HOW TO QUALIFY FOR A DISABILITY FREEZE

         Disability SAL must be reapplied for annually. The Orleans Parish Assessor is asking the Louisiana Legislature to make this exemption permanent, but this approval has not been granted as of Summer, 2014. This special assessment is not to be confused with the 100 percent Veterans Disability. Disability-related abatements or “freezes” must be documented by:

1 – A valid Louisiana Driver’s License or Louisiana State I.D. (address must correspond to property’s address on application);

2 – A letter from a federal or state agency confirming the total disability; OR

3 – A service-connected disability of 50 percent or more with a Veterans Administration (VA) letter of determination or notice of award; and

4 – Proof of annual income: 1040 adjusted gross income of prior year’s income tax return.

 

         Property owners may visit either the east bank offices at City Hall, 1300 Perdido St., Fourth Floor, or the west bank office at Algiers Courthouse, 225 Morgan St., weekdays from 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. The Assessor reminds the public that it is now a punishable crime according to state law to claim more than one homestead exemption.

 

         For more information

 

 

Categories: Today’s Business News

Comments

comments