Louisiana Radio Network To Induct 3 Into 2017 Ag Hall Of Distinction

Charles A. “Buck” Vandersteen

BATON ROUGE – The Louisiana Agriculture Hall of Distinction will honor its 2017 inductees during a banquet on Thursday, March 2, at L’Auberge Hotel in Baton Rouge, at 7:00 p.m.

         The 2017 inductees are:


• Charles A. “Buck” Vandersteen of Alexandria for his invaluable contributions to the forestry industry. Vandersteen has presided for 34 years over the Louisiana Forestry Association. He received the Distinguished Service to Forestry Award in 1996 and was named Member of the Year by the Louisiana Society of Association Executives in 2008.

• James D. Graugnard Sr. (posthumously) of New Iberia for his substantial role in the leadership and development of the Louisiana Farm Bureau. Graugnard’s accomplishments include improving electrical and telephone services for rural residents, improving highways and rural roads, and creating flood control in rural areas.

• Mayther Ray Young of Wisner for his contributions to the agriculture industry. Young pioneered and introduced the no-till system, which is now used in farming across the South. He has received numerous awards, including twice being named Outstanding Conservation Farmer for Northeast Louisiana by Soil and Water Conservation District.


         The Louisiana Agriculture Hall of Distinction honors those who have made significant contributions to the state’s agriculture community in farming, ranching, forestry, aquaculture, education and agribusiness.

         The annual induction ceremony is presented by the Louisiana Radio Network in cooperation with the LSU AgCenter, the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry, and the Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation. Monsanto serves as title sponsor and First South Farm Credit is the presenting sponsor.

         Founded in 1974, Louisiana Radio Network provides 63 radio stations throughout Louisiana and parts of Mississippi with news, sports and agri-news. Louisiana Radio Network also publishes Tiger Rag, known as the “Bible of LSU Sports” since 1978, the new “Tiger Rag Extra” magazine, and presents the Louisiana Agriculture Hall of Distinction award.

         For more information


Categories: People On The Move