LA Makes It A Crime To Declare More Than 1 Homestead Exemption

Assessor Erroll G. Williams

NEW ORLEANS – Assessor Erroll G. Williams informs the homeowners of Orleans Parish that as of August 1, 2016, it will be a crime to claim more than 1 homestead exemption.

         According to Act 437, signed by Governor John Bel Edwards and passed by the Louisiana Legislature, individuals who claim more than 1 homestead exemption are subject to a $500 fine, 6 months in prison and restitution of the wrongfully claimed exemption.

         According to state law, only 1 homestead exemption of $75,000 is allowed per person on owned property considered one’s “domicile” or permanent owned residence.

         Disabled veterans in Louisiana may be eligible for a $150,000 homestead exemption.

         For more information

 

 

Categories: Real Estate, Today’s Business News