JEDCO Announces 2017 Board Of Commissioners

Bruce Layburn – JEDCO’s 2017 Chairman of the Board

AVONDALE, LA – The Jefferson Parish Economic Development Commission (JEDCO) welcomed several new faces to its Board of Commissioners in 2017. Since mid-December, JEDCO received four new appointments to the organization. Chaired by long-time JEDCO Board Member, Bruce Layburn, the JEDCO Board works closely with the JEDCO staff to achieve the organization's mission of attracting, retaining and expanding business in Jefferson Parish. Individuals who serve on the JEDCO board represent area business organizations and parish leaders.

         The JEDCO Board of Commissioners appointed Layburn to serve as the 2017 Chairman of the Board. Layburn represents the Home Builders Association of Greater New Orleans and has served on the board for four years. He is a residential developer with more than 40 years of experience principally in southeast Louisiana. Layburn is the former director of the Home Builders Association of Greater New Orleans and he currently serves on the Board of Directors for the organization. He is also a member of the Jefferson Parish Citizen's Advisory Board and the Envision Jefferson 2020 Steering Committee. Layburn served as the Greater New Orleans representative of the former Louisiana Home Owner's Warranty Board. He received a degree in architecture from Louisiana Tech. 

         Josline Gosserand Frank represents the Greater New Orleans Black Chamber of Commerce on the JEDCO Board. She is the co-owner/ principal and realtor of World Properties International, Russell Frank Realty Group, LLC. Based out of Gretna, the company has been in business approximately 30 years. Before starting her own business, Frank spent 33 years educating students in the Jefferson Parish Public School System. Additionally, Frank was the first Hospitality, Travel and Tourism Director in the Louisiana. Frank is an active member of the Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, the Greater New Orleans Black Chamber of Commerce, New Orleans Metropolitan Association of Realtors, Greater Baton Rouge Area Realtors, Louisiana Real Estate Commission, and the National Association of Realtors.

         Councilwoman Jennifer Van Vrancken appointed Thomas J. Gennaro to the JEDCO Board. He serves as the Senior Executive Director (East Bank Market) and Assistant Vice President of Corporate Financial Analysis for Peoples Health Network, where he oversees implementation and oversight of the company's strategic operating plan and strategic planning initiatives. Gennaro is a 2014 graduate of the Leadership Jefferson program. He has an MBA with a concentration in accounting and a B.S. in Finance from the University of New Orleans.

         The Jefferson Chamber of Commerce nominated Matthew A. Gibson to serve as its representative on the JEDCO Board. Gibson serves as Executive Vice President of Business Development and Chief Strategy Officer for East Jefferson General Hospital. He leads the strategic planning process and works closely with the clinical enterprise division to develop strategy and business development initiatives for EJGH. Gibson has spent the last 10 years managing hospital operations across the south. He is a Fellow in the American College of Healthcare Executives and holds a Master's degree in health care administration and an MBA from the University of Alabama at Birmingham.

         Keith Merritt represents the Louisiana Bankers Association on the JEDCO Board. Merritt is a Senior Vice President in Business Banking at IBERIABANK, managing a portfolio of business clients with a wide range of banking needs. Merritt is heavily involved with the community. He is a member of the Jefferson Chamber of Commerce, Elmwood Business Association, and St. Catherine of Siena Men's Club. Additionally, Merritt devotes time to Junior Achievement, teaching financial literacy to the region's youth. He is currently a member of the Leadership Jefferson Class of 2017.

         The Jefferson Parish President nominates one representative to serve on the JEDCO Board of Commissioners. The Parish Council nominates seven members and 13 board appointees represent local business organizations. Business representatives serve five years. Those board members nominated by the Parish Council and President serve for the duration of the nominator's term in office.


         The 2017 JEDCO Board of Commissioners:


         JEDCO is the economic development organization for the parish with the main objective of attracting, growing and creating new business in the area. JEDCO's mission is to proactively influence the economy through the retention and creation of quality jobs, entrepreneurship, and investment in Jefferson Parish. Located in the growing Churchill Technology & Business Park, JEDCO is home to a business incubator for early-stage ventures and it also operates a state-of-the-art Conference Center.

         For more information



Categories: People On The Move