Girl Scouts Louisiana East Elects Board Of Directors, National Council Delegates

Newly elected Members-at-Large to the Girl Scouts Louisiana East’s Board of Directors (l to r) Terrie Guerin, Juana Marine-Lombard, Criketa Matlock, Theresa Crosby, Nicole Learson, and Brett Bonin

NEW ORLEANS — An election of officers and members-at-large to Girl Scouts Louisiana East’s Board of Directors was held during the Council’s Annual Meeting on April 1.

         The following members were installed by outgoing Council First Vice Chair Julie LeBlanc:


• Members-at-Large elected for a three-year term from 2017-2020 are Brett Bonin (New Orleans), Theresa Crosby (Metairie), Terrie Guerin (New Orleans), Nicole Learson (Baton Rouge), Juana Marin-Lombard (New Orleans), Criketa Matlock (Gonzales), and Patrick North (New Orleans).  Nominated for their second term as members-at-large are: Allison Augustus-Wallace (Mandeville), Maurice Sholas (New Orleans) and Betsy Stoner (New Orleans).

• They join continuing board members-at-large Jacquelyn Daniels (Baton Rouge), Rachel Van Voorhees Kirschman (New Orleans), Julie LeBlanc (New Orleans), Robyn Merrick (Baton Rouge), Erica Murray (New Orleans), Cyndi Nguyen (New Orleans), Maurice Sholas (New Orleans), Raquel Square-Ayles (Baker), Betsy Stoner (New Orleans), and Darnell Waites (Baker). Board member Lyndia M. Jones (New Orleans) was elected as Interim 1st vice chair until the next board election. Continuing board officers are Kelly McKinney, treasurer. Joan Mollohan, chair; Veronica Osby, 2nd vice chair; and Jameeta Youngblood, secretary.

• Newly elected members of the Board Development Committee include Lee Gary Jr. (New Orleans), Yolanda Jenkins, (New Orleans), and Timolynn Sams-Sumter (New Orleans). Continuing members of the council Board Development Committee are: committee chair Betsy Stoner.


         The board of directors, composed of outstanding community volunteer leaders, manages the strategic affairs of the council.

         National Council Delegates and Alternates to the Girl Scouts of the USA’s National Council Session were also elected.

         National Council Delegates are: Mona LaCombe (Prairieville), Linda LeRay (Thibodaux), Joann Lay (Ponchatoula), and Nell Toomer (Gretna). Alternates are Rose Mason (Baton Rouge), Katrice Reid (LaPlace), Rosie Hare (Abita Springs), Michelle Briggs (Kenner). Council Delegates will represent the Girl Scouts Louisiana East council at the National Council Session in Ohio in October 2017.

         Girl Scout’s mission is to build girls of courage, confidence and character, who make the world a better place. The local council, Girl Scouts Louisiana East, serves girls in Kindergarten through 12th grade in 23 parishes of southeast Louisiana.

         For more information


Categories: People On The Move