Dr. Perret Honored With Dr. Murrel H. Kaplan Compassionate Physician Award

Dr. Rebecca Perret

NEW ORLEANS – Touro Infirmary physician Dr. Rebecca Perret received the Dr. Murrel H. Kaplan Compassionate Physician Award during a ceremony on Tuesday, Feb. 7.

         The Kaplan Award is an annual honor recognizing a Touro Infirmary medical staff member for values important to Dr. Kaplan during his 50-year practice: compassion, empathy, respect for the patient as a whole person and genuine care for the patient’s welfare.

         Dr. Perret is an OB/GYN who has served on the Touro medical staff for more than 14 years. Dr. Kaplan’s son, Dr. Jay Kaplan, presented the award in his father’s memory before a crowd of Touro medical staff, leadership, family and friends.

         “Touro Infirmary’s mission is dedicated to providing compassionate healthcare of the highest quality to the people it serves,” Touro CEO Susan Andrews said. “Dr. Perret lives this mission in her practice and serves as a wonderful model of kindness and compassion for the entire Touro community. Her patients feel confident and comfortable while in her care.”

         Dr. Perret received her Doctorate of Medicine from Louisiana State University (LSU) School of Medicine and completed her internship and residency at LSU school of Medicine Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology.

         Dr. Perret began her OB/GYN practice in 2002 when she joined Crescent City Physicians and Touro Infirmary. She has provided compassionate care to tens of thousands of patients and delivered thousands of babies. Dr. Perret is a board certified fellow with the American College of OB/GYN and a Diplomat with the American Board of OB/GYN. Outside of treating patients, Dr. Perret enjoys spending her free time with her husband, two children and her dogs.

         The Kaplan Compassionate Physician Award is made possible by the Kaplan Memorial Fund through the Touro Infirmary Foundation.

         For additional information


Categories: People On The Move