Arnie Fielkow Returns To New Orleans With Legends Of Basketball To Host Community Youth Clinic, Meetings

Arnie D. Fielkow

CHICAGO, IL – The National Basketball Retired Players Association (NBRPA), the only alumni association comprised of former NBA, ABA, Harlem Globetrotters and WNBA players, will join chapter leaders from around the country to host annual meetings and a community youth clinic at the new NORDC Sanchez Multi-Purpose Center in New Orleans.

         As part of this event with NBRPA chapter leaders, more than 14 former NBA standouts will be working with local youth along with officials from the NBRPA including former New Orleans City Council President and current President & CEO of the NBRPA Arnie Fielkow.

         Chapters from Atlanta, Houston, Los Angeles, Orlando, Phoenix, Chicago, Detroit, Miami, New York, Dallas and Las Vegas will convene in New Orleans for Sports Business Annual Meetings will serve to plan the NBRPA’s and Chapters 2016 international and domestic charitable efforts as well as strengthening programs that help former players transition to a successful life after basketball.

         Today, there will be a youth basketball and mentoring clinic conducted by the National Basketball Retired Players Association and its Chapters at the Sanchez Multi-Purpose Center, 1616 Caffin Ave., from 3:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

         Participants will include Dale Ellis (Seattle Supersonics), Willie Norwood (Detroit Pistons), Emmette Bryant (New York Knicks/Boston Celtics), Willie Davis (Chicago Bulls), Jerome Williams (Detroit Pistons), Wayne “Tree” Rollins (Atlanta Hawks), Rick Darnell (Virginia Squires – ABA), Tom Hoover (New York Knicks), Major Jones (Houston Rockets), Matt Fish (Los Angeles Clippers), Irving Thomas (Los Angeles Lakers), Marvin Roberts (Los Angeles Lakers), Kevin Loder (Kansas City Kings/San Diego Clippers) and Dwight Davis (Cleveland Cavaliers/Golden State Warriors).

         The National Basketball Retired Players Association is a 501(c) 3 organization with a mission to develop, implement and advocate a wide array of programs to benefit its members, supporters and the community. The NBRPA was founded in 1992 by basketball legends Dave DeBusschere, Dave Bing, Archie Clark, Dave Cowens and Oscar Robertson. The NBRPA works in direct partnerships with the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association.

         Arnie D. Fielkow is the President & CEO, and the NBRPA Board of Directors includes Chairman of the Board Thurl Bailey, Vice Chairman Dwight Davis, Treasurer Marvin Roberts, Secretary Nancy Lieberman, Past Chairman Robert A. (Bob) Elliott, Rick Barry, James Donaldson, Mike Glenn, Spencer Haywood, LaRue Martin Jr., Johnny Newman and Eldridge Recasner.

         For more information




Categories: Around Town, Business Events, Today’s Business News