2019 Community Events

 

Second Saturday Community Market

Audubon Louisiana Nature Center
Second Saturday of every month from 8:30 am-11:30 am

In April 2019, the Audubon Louisiana Nature Center began its Saturday Community Market that will continue on the  second Saturday of each month in 2019. The market serves as a meeting place for the community, inviting both residents and visitors alike to New Orleans East, and provides fresh fruit, vegetables, seafood, dairy and flowers.

Brenda L. Walkenhorst, Director of Education Projects for Audubon Louisiana Nature Institute (ALNI), said a main goal for the market is to “provide a compelling reason for people to come to New Orleans East and the Audubon Louisiana Nature Center.” In addition, the Market is a fun, community-oriented event that  highlights the Audubon Louisiana Nature Center and the local business vendors  that participate at the Market.”

ALNI has long-term plans to grow the market over the next 5 years, aiming to incorporate live music, cultural events and family-friendly educational programs.

 

Maker Monday

East New Orleans Regional Library
Every Monday from 5:00 pm-6:00 pm

 

Tech Goes Home: Beginner Computer Skills for Adults

East New Orleans Regional Library
Monday, August 26 10:00 am-12:00 pm
Friday, August 30 10:00 am -12:00 pm

 

East New Orleans Neighborhood Advisory Commission CAB Planning Meeting

St. Maria Goretti Community Center
Tuesday, August 27 6:00 pm
Tuesday, September 24, 6:00 pm
Tuesday, October 29, 6:00 pm

 

East New Orleans Neighborhood Advisory Commission General Meeting

St. Maria Goretti Community Center
Tuesday, September 10 6:00 pm
Tuesday, October 8 6:00 pm

 

Urban Fiction Book Club

East New Orleans Regional Library
Saturday, September 14 1:00 pm-3:00 pm
Saturday, October 12 1:00 pm-3:00 pm

 

Community Conversation with Council Member Cyndi Nguyen

East New Orleans Regional Library
Saturday, September 21 10:00 am -11:30 am
Saturday, October 19 10:00 am – 11:30 am

Sign up for our “Look East” newsletter to receive informati

on on ENOBDD’s latest news, projects and events! www.eastnolabdd.com