Edit ModuleShow Tags

Port of South Louisiana Director Honored With World Trade Center of New Orleans Awards

Port of South Louisiana Executive Director Paul Aucoin receiving the Eugene J. Schreiber Award (left) and The Order of the Plimsoll Mark (right)

Peter Forest Photography

NEW ORLEANS - Last week, the World Trade Center of New Orleans celebrated Louisiana International Trade Week, a week-long event that included industry panel sessions and workshops. Presenting sponsors were the Port of South Louisiana and Associated Terminals.

The week’s activities culminated last Friday evening, Nov. 3, with the Louisiana International Trade Jubilee, a black-tie celebratory affair and fundraiser benefiting the World Trade Center of New Orleans. During the jubilee, the Port of South Louisiana’s Executive Director Paul Aucoin received this year’s Eugene J. Schreiber Award, established in memory of the late Eugene “Gene” Schreiber, which honors an individual who demonstrates exceptional knowledge and leadership in promoting international trade policy for the benefit of the State of Louisiana.

Additionally, Aucoin received the World Trade Center of New Orleans’ highest honor, The Order of the Plimsoll Mark, for his contribution to world peace, trade and understanding.

“I am honored and humbled to receive these prestigious awards,” said Aucoin. “A lot of people besides myself are responsible for my receipt of them, including the commissioners and staff of the Port of South Louisiana.”

Previous recipients of the Schreiber Award include Senator Mary Landrieu, Congressman Charles Boustany, Jr. MD, Hon. James Coleman, Jr. CBE, and Gary P. LaGrange.

Recipients of The Order of the Plimsoll Mark include President Reagan, President George H.W. Bush, Mikhail Gorbachev, Secretary of State Henry Kissinger and Madeline Albright.

Other awards presented that evening were: SPF Depot of Bossier City, Louisiana received the Award for Excellence in International Trade and Janine Mansour, Commercial Director for the Port of New Orleans, was the recipient of the Young and Emerging Leader Award.

Add your comment:
Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags Edit ModuleShow Tags


October 2018


  • Sun
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
30 01 02 03 04 05 06
07 08 09 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31 01 02 03